The Impact of COVID 19 on Retirement Savings

  • 11 May 2021
  • 10:00 AM - 11:30 AM
  • Online

COVID-19 has made a secure retirement even harder to achieve for many. Some COVID-impacted workers took advantage of the CARES Act provision that allowed tax penalty-free withdrawals from retirement accounts. Others stopped contributing to retirement accounts after losing their jobs and income. And still other would-be savers may have yet again postponed setting up a retirement account. Women, who already faced obstacles to a secure retirement before the pandemic, have seen these challenges intensify as a result of COVID era layoffs and furloughs.

Join Consumer Action on Tuesday, May 11, when Consumer Action will host a webinar focusing on saving for retirement during and after the pandemic. The speakers for this webinar are Richard Eisenberg, managing editor at Next Avenue (produced by Twin Cities PBS) and senior editor of its Money and Work & Purpose channels; Vickie Elisa, financial literacy educator for Women's Institute for a Secure Retirement (WISER); and Dana Pollard, managing director of investments at Wells Fargo Advisors.

The webinar will cover information for you and your clients regarding:

  • The long-term impact of early withdrawals from retirement accounts during the pandemic
  • Alternatives to making early retirement account withdrawals
  • Strategies for staying on track with retirement savings, or getting back on track as finances begin to improve
  • Ways COVID-19 has increased women’s retirement savings worries
  • Tips for first-time retirement savers during the pandemic and beyond
  • Tools and resources to help consumers plan a more secure future and be motivated to save

Register to participate in this free 90-minute webinar:

Tuesday, May 11, at 10:00 a.m. PT (11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. ET)


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software