COVID-19's Impact on Food Insecurity

  • 09 Mar 2021
  • 1:00 PM
  • Online

Join Consumer Action for a free webinar focusing on the impact of COVID-19 on food insecurity and the question of whether we need to overhaul our community response to food insecurity. The webinar will feature a presentation by Karen Washington, farmer and activist, Dr. Katherine Alaimo, associate professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at Michigan State University, and Dr. Lisa Jahns, national program leader for the Community Food Projects Competitive Grant Program for the National Institute of Food and Agriculture of the USDA.

The webinar will cover:

  • The history of community food programs and their contributions to addressing food insecurity
  • A community response versus a federal response to food insecurity, and why we need both
  • The intersection between food and health, and why concentrating on food alone is not enough
  • Overview of the USDA Community Food Projects Competitive Grant Program
  • Overview of urban agriculture and community gardening and their contributions to alleviating food insecurity
  • Strategies and solutions

Register to participate in this free 90-minute webinar:

Tuesday, March 9, at 10:00 a.m. PT (11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. ET)

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6547732893042880267


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software