The Impact of COVID-19 on the Mental Health of Children and Adolescents, and How to Protect Children's Privacy Online webinar

  • 17 Nov 2020
  • 1:00 PM
  • Online

According to a recent Gallup survey of parents of school-aged children, nearly three in 10 say the pandemic is already taking a toll on their children’s emotional or mental health, and another 14% indicate that their children are “approaching their limits.” School closures, social distancing and other measures taken to slow the spread of COVID-19 have upended daily routines and norms for children and adolescents. The survey shows that nearly half of kids find the separation from their classmates and teachers a “major challenge.”

At the same time, the move to online learning platforms has heightened concerns about pre-existing privacy issues and presented some new ones.

Join Consumer Action on Tuesday, Nov. 17, when they will host a webinar focusing on the “Impact of COVID-19 on the Mental Health of Children and Adolescents, and How to Protect Children’s Privacy Online.” The webinar will be led by Dr. Jamie Aten, executive director of the Humanitarian Disaster Institute and Blanchard Chair of Humanitarian and Disaster Leadership at Wheaton College; attorney Ariel Fox Johnson, senior counsel for policy and privacy at Common Sense Media; and Bill Fitzgerald, privacy researcher at Consumer Reports.

The webinar will cover:

  • Insights into ways COVID-19 is impacting children’s mental health
  • Practical tips for how to support children through the pandemic
  • Privacy and security in the era of remote learning
  • How state and federal privacy laws apply to virtual learning
  • How to protect your family’s privacy during remote learning
  • Privacy issues with behavior tracking apps in the classroom and at home
  • Resources

Register to participate in this free 90-minute webinar:

Tuesday, Nov. 17, at 10:00 a.m. PT (11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. ET)

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7430316372363669520


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software