Partner Trainings

Upcoming events

    • 09 Mar 2021
    • 1:00 PM (EST)
    • Online

    Join Consumer Action for a free webinar focusing on the impact of COVID-19 on food insecurity and the question of whether we need to overhaul our community response to food insecurity. The webinar will feature a presentation by Karen Washington, farmer and activist, Dr. Katherine Alaimo, associate professor in the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition at Michigan State University, and Dr. Lisa Jahns, national program leader for the Community Food Projects Competitive Grant Program for the National Institute of Food and Agriculture of the USDA.

    The webinar will cover:

    • The history of community food programs and their contributions to addressing food insecurity
    • A community response versus a federal response to food insecurity, and why we need both
    • The intersection between food and health, and why concentrating on food alone is not enough
    • Overview of the USDA Community Food Projects Competitive Grant Program
    • Overview of urban agriculture and community gardening and their contributions to alleviating food insecurity
    • Strategies and solutions

    Register to participate in this free 90-minute webinar:

    Tuesday, March 9, at 10:00 a.m. PT (11:00 a.m. MT; 12:00 p.m. CT; 1:00 p.m. ET)

    https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6547732893042880267


    • 23 Mar 2021
    • 1:00 PM - 2:15 PM (EDT)
    • Online

    One major side effect of the COVID-19 pandemic is an increase in fraud and ID theft. As consumers struggle through the challenges of the pandemic, fraudsters are using the crisis to exploit them by stealing their personally identifiable information as they search for knowledge, protection, financial relief and treatment for COVID-19.

    With ID theft and fraud spreading nearly as rampantly as the pandemic, what can be done to protect consumers? This webinar will feature a presentation by Eva Velasquez, president and CEO of the Identity Theft Resource Center, and Andy Collins, senior vice president of fraud prevention at Wells Fargo.

    The webinar will cover:

    • What fraud and ID theft are
    • What cyber criminals really want
    • COVID-19-related scams and ID theft schemes
    • Account takeover and other forms of ID theft
    • ID theft and fraud trends, and 2021 predictions
    • Resources for victims of fraud and ID theft

    Click here to Register to participate in this free 75-minute webinar.

    • 06 Apr 2021
    • 6:00 PM (EDT)
    • Online

    Learn how to protect yourself from consumer scams, identity thefts and learn smart consumer purchasing decisions. This virtual program is presented in partnership with the Annapolis/Anne Arundel Financial Education Coalition and the Anne Arundel County Public Library. Click here to register. 


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software